12 Starfish

So there is an old story that pastors love to tell -and my dad is a pastor, so you can bet I’ve heard it many times- about starfish.

The story goes something like this…

Imagine a beautiful sandy beach that stretches as far as you can see, its about sunset and all along the beach there are thousands upon thousands of starfish that have washed up on shore. Soon they will all die, but there is one little boy walking the beach, and for every step he takes there is a starfish.

When he comes upon a starfish, he picks it up, and he chucks it back into the ocean, one after another.

He does this for some time, and it sparks the curiosity of a man passing by. The man watches the boy for a couple of minutes as he continues to throw the starfish in one after another, and eventually he approaches the boy. He says,

“kid, I’ve been watching you do this for a couple of minutes now, and while I admire you’re enthusiasm, I just want to know why. I hate to say it…”

…as he looks upon the thousands of starfish lining the beach…

“…but you’re not making much of a difference doncha think?”

The kid thinks for a minute, picks up another starfish, chucks it back into the ocean, points to the spot where it splashed and responds,

“maybe so, but to that one, it made all the difference in the world.”

_ _ _

Now pastors loooove telling that story. And its a good story. Heck, I still remember it. And you can draw all kinds of great analogies from it.

But it doesn’t really work for me…

Instead of making a huge difference for one starfish, one at a time, I’m the type of guy that asks questions like, “why are there thousands of starfish washed up on shore?” And, “how can we make it so the starfish don’t wash up on shore anymore?”

I’d like to start answering some of those questions . I’d like to start solving some of those questions so that way we don’t have to have 1000 little starfish problems. I’d like to solve the starfish problems at a macro level so that we don’t even have to deal with them at a micro level.

Thats the type of thing I want to do for my internship.

I know alot of you have been asking me about my internship, and so I figured I would answer it with the analogy that I approach it with. I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do yet, and to be honest a couple of things have fallen through, but it looks like its going to depend alot on who I work with. I don’t have the answers and I could really use some prayer (and suggestions!) regarding the whole situation. So now you know where my heart is at with the whole thing. Hopefully we’ll find out soon enough how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

