4:12 AM

It is currently 4:12 AM as I write this.

I’m working on a theory here. If I stay up till at least 5 AM, and then wake up around 9 AM, then I should be tired tomorrow. Then I will go to bed at a decent hour, wake up at a decent hour, and then get my biological time clock on a more reasonable schedule. I’m pretty sure that going to bed at 3 AM and waking up at 11 AM will not fly in Honduras. This really means nothing, but will hopefully explain the random pieces of information that I’m about to write.

First off, Sufjan Stevens is a genius. It just has to be said. His music helps me write, and think for that matter. I’m currently listening to “The BQE” which is a phenomenal instrumental. Listen to it.

Raising money has been frustrating. Its been nerve racking. It’s been a lot of things that are the opposite of words like “fun” and “enjoyable” and “comfortable”. There have been numerous times that I have complained to God about not “catching a break”, and I’ve begun to realize that while its true that I don’t normally catch big breaks, I do catch a lot of small ones. For instance, I’ve been in need of a backpack for my trip. There certain things in life that I do not really care for. Such as socks of how my backpack looks. As such, I don’t think I’ve ever spent much money on a backpack. Like a wallet, it was occasionally just bought out of necessity. So imagine my surprise when I discovered how much the kind of backpack I would need would cost. Do you know they sell backpacks for upwards of $500? How ridiculous is that? Anyways, I went into REI today looking to spend about $75 (as part of a Christmas gift from my parents) on a backpack that I had already looked at. When we pulled up we noticed that they were having a sale. I immediately found a backpack that was larger and nicer than the one that I had originally wanted. The original price tag? $189.00. The sale price I paid? $35.00. Like I said, I catch a lot of small breaks, and for that I am very thankful.

For those of you who don’t know, I am actually going to Honduras instead of Belize. To make a long story short, instead of having the boat I will be living on docked off Belize, there was a paperwork issue, and they had to move the boats a little further south. So yeah.

I’m still in need of ALOT of support, and I could definitely use prayer for that.

I should have access to the internet occasionally while I’m gone, and I will try to keep this blog as updated as possible.

2009 was a trying year. I had a lot of successful moments, and I had a lot of frustrating moments. I might write about that later. We’ll see.

One thing that stands out though, is realizing how truly grateful I am to have the friends that I have. I’m not nearly as good to people as they are to me, and for that I am thankful.

Resolutions: Write more. Read more. Listen more. Engage more. Talk less.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

