Alleyways.

4063476300_80b586546b_bThis is weird to say, but I love alleyways.

I always have. In a world where things are constantly fixed and updated to make them look better, we tend to end up with a seemingly fake world.

Alleyways are authentic. They are the parts of cities that just…are.

I was recently lucky enough to be a part of http://iliveheresf.blogspot.com/

I’ve been reading “I live here:SF” for quite awhile now, and I had always thought about participating, I thought it was a really cool idea, and I loved reading about the people that were featured on it.

When I created 1hundredproject, I realized that being a part of “I live here:SF” would be a good way to get the word out (I know, I know, shameless self promotion)

So I shot off an email to Julie (aka Tangobaby of http://tangobaby2.blogspot.com/), the creator of “I live here: SF” and luckily she wasn’t too picky about subjects for her project!

So we met up last week in my neighborhood and did a little photo shoot. I had never done a photo shoot before and was glad I got to do it with Julie. She made the afternoon into a nice conversation and walk that just happened to have a camera following along, and for that I was grateful.

Some of my photo shoot ended up being done on a friends rooftop, but my original plan was to shoot in the cool little backdrops that alleyways provide. I guess I was trying to show myself as authentic as the alleyways that I love. I hope that people find “my story” authentic, because I want them to find me and my project to be authentic. I strive to be authentic.

One of the things I liked about Julie and her project was that is spawned from an authentic desire to learn how to photograph people, and to hear their stories. She had this cool little idea, and she ran with it. It pulled me in, along with many others, and has even been featured in The Chronicle. Not many people can say that about their little blog projects.

I hope that you check out the cool and authentic work that Julie is doing.

I hope that you check out my attempts to be authentic and raise money.

But maybe most importantly, I hope that you come to find authentic desires and pursuits and passions within your own life.

…Damn that was corny, but it was authentic. I promise.

One Response to “Alleyways.”

  1. Hi! I like the simplicity of your blog. Simple yet sensible, indeed. I want to follow you blog. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

