Stuff

375430-fbfront-end-of-old-rolls-royce-posters346323712“This isn’t life, it’s just stuff! And it’s become more important to you than living! Well honey, that’s just nuts.”

-Lester Burnham, American Beauty

Almost every day I walk two blocks to my favorite local coffee shop. Along the way I pass a parking garage. In the back of that parking garage, in the third space from the wall, sits a Rolls Royce. In more than a month of frequenting this coffee shop, I have yet to see it move. And it makes me wonder, who has the kind of money where they can just let a Rolls Royce rot away like that? After some wonderful coffee, conversation, and a few pages of a book, I walk back to my apartment, and as I pass that Rolls Royce I can’t help but think to myself, “today, my $1.75 coffee is more valuable than that Rolls Royce.” Think about it, If I enjoy my coffee every day, and that Rolls Royce just sits there, providing nothing to whoever owns it, then my coffee is more valuable. To be honest, I think thats a sad realization. 

I love my coffee. But seeing a Rolls Royce waste away in a garage…getting less usage than a cup of coffee…its sad you know? Thats alot of money wasting away.

Our apartment is almost completely furnished. TJ, Caleb and Myself are really not to thank for that. We’ve just been at the right place at the right time…and people have given us stuff. I find it amazing. I am very grateful for my comfy couches and my 35 inch TV and my Ethen Allen table. But when I think about it, these things were once somebodys proud posessions that they bought new, and now what? They can afford to just give them away? I’m not trying to say anything negative about the people who have blessed us with such nice furniture, they’re great people. But having the ability to just give something away that was once valuable enough that someone would spend ALOT amount of money on it, its just crazy to me. 

Right now our fridge is filled with 3rd hand food. No that is not a typo. I have 3rd hand food in my fridge, meaning that the loaves of bread I have in my fridge have been discarded not once, but twice before they have gotten to me. Say a store has a loaf of bread, but they do not sell it, so they give it to YWAM, it then becomes secondhand food, but there is so much secondhand bread, that YWAM ends up throwing it away, so I take some of it, and it becomes thirdhand food. Isn’t that amazing that we can waste so much food? The truth is, I wont use all the bread, and I’ll have to throw some of it away too.

My point is, The world tells us that we’re supposed to accumulate all of this stuff. But it seems to me that none of it really matters that much in the long run. I just can’t justify buying a huge TV or a huge couch when other people are just giving it away, obviously its not all its cracked up to be. I recently returned an expensive pair of headphones because I realized I just couldn’t justify it… it wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. 

It just kills me seeing a Rolls Royce rot in a garage after seeing kids play soccer with a “ball” made of trash bags rolled up with rubber bands. It kills me to see so much food thrown away after seeing kids in the later phases of starvation. Its not a pretty world out there, but damn we’re doing a good job of distracting ourselves with our 35 inch TVs. 

As Lester Burnham would say, “Honey, thats just nuts.”

Leave a Reply

